Bootstrap Framework 3.3.6

Over a dozen reusable components built to provide iconography, dropdowns, input groups, navigation, alerts, and much more...

Share thoughts and ideas about SGRT in general and the SGRT Community.
By jose_carlos_pichardo
I have been using AlignRT with VARIAN linacs for over five years. This is my first experience using an Elekta linac (VersaHD) with AlignRT. I am running into issues that are not an issue with VARIAN linacs, such as being able to monitor the patient during a CBCT and having great difficulty monitoring the patients during treatment.

In VARIAN linacs, I am able to monitor the patient even though the kV and source are extended and blocking the AlignRT cameras. However, with the Elekta linac the blockage of the cameras by the kV source and panel (and the gantry) make it impossible to monitor the patient for motion during CBCT acquisition. The cameras are not able to see sufficient surface, so all the RTDs are frozen.

In VARIAN linacs, even if the kV panel and source are extended, it is possible to monitor the patient during treatment delivery for most sites. There will be breaks at certain gantry positions, but they are only temporary. With the Elekta linac, there are too many gantry positions for which the panel and source prevent the system from seeing sufficient surface, so we must push both in prior to treatment. The drawback of the Elekta linac versus VARIAN linacs is that with the Elekta linac the therapists must go into the room and manually retract the source and panel (this can be done from outside the room in VARIAN linacs). I am also getting the feeling that the field of view of the AlignRT cameras is reduced in an Elekta linac compared to a VARIAN linac, particularly if the hexapod is used, as it lifts the patient vertically by about 5 cm.