This informative webinar showcased 5 clinical case studies. Each presenter discussed the challenges with conventional radiotherapy techniques and how SGRT has enabled a successful and accurate treatment.

Faculty:

Jotsna Singh, Chief RTT, University California San Diego, Encinitas, ‘Solving complex clinical challenges with SGRT’

Luke Rock, Medical Physicist, Beacon Hospital Dublin, ‘Importance of SGRT in SABR treatments.’

Jessica Waldesjö, Radiotherapy Nurse, Orebro University Hospital,’SGRT to help position and monitor an amputee pelvic sarcoma patient

Daniel Sandberg, Radiotherapy Nurse, Orebro University Hospital, ‘SGRT to position And Monitor A radical brain treatment in a severely claustrophobic patient’

 

 

The SGRT Community is excited to host a free, roundtable Q&A on-demand Webinar: COPING WITH COVID: How three clinics use SGRT to enhance patient safety.

Speakers:

William C. Chen, MD, and Kaci Rowan Northwell Health Cancer Institute, New York. Samaneh Shoraka, The Harley Street Clinic, London. Nicola Blake, Luciano Pereira and Deirdre Dobson, Guys Cancer Centre, London.

Objectives:

  • Understand how in departments around the world radiotherapy practise has changed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Realise how in 3 different radiotherapy settings in London and the USA SGRT was used to facilitate this change and enable continuity of practise.

 

Three clinical experts from Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles discuss their experiences with SGRT treating pediatrics patients and reducing anesthesia, skin marks and the need for repeat imaging. They will also discuss the impact SGRT has on the workflow and patient experience.

Presenters:

Alisha Chlebik, RTT
Children’s Hospital of LA

Art Olc, PhD, Chief of Physics
Professor of Clinical Radiation Oncology
Children’s Hospital of LA

Kenneth Wong, MD
USC Department of Radiation Oncology
Children’s Center for Cancer and Blood Diseases
Children’s Hospital of LA

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many practices have had to make changes to their policies, workflows, and treatment patterns to continue to deliver quality outcomes without compromising the safety of their patients and staff.

During this roundtable Q&A, leading radiation oncology professionals, Louis Potters, MD, Josh Heinzerling, MD, and Stewart Gaede, PhD, discussed topics relating to patient safety and infection prevention and shared their experiences within their respective practices.

Topics of discussion included:

  • Delivering hypofractionation without compromising safety
  • Departmental policy changes and implications
  • Adapting to fluctuating patient volumes
  • Infection prevention and motion management
  • Lasting impacts of COVID-19 within radiation oncology practices

 

Fill out the form below to sign up for the on-demand webinar. You will receive a confirmation email with the link to the on-demand webinar.


Speaker biographies:

 

HeinzerlingDr. Heinzerling, MD:
Radiation Oncologist, Lavine Cancer Institute / Atrium Health

Dr. Heinzerling completed his undergraduate education at Wake Forest University and received his medical degree from University of Texas Southwestern Medical school. He completed his residency at Carilion Clinic in Roanoke, VA, as well as University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, where he was Chief Resident from 2011-2012. He has completed postgraduate and post-doctorate training in clinical prostate brachytherapy at MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Heinzerling is particularly interested in motion management, SBRT, and the role advancing technology plays in allowing for more accurate radiation therapy treatments for his patients. He is currently employed by Southeast Radiation Oncology Group, and is a Radiation Oncologist at Levine Cancer Institute and Atrium Health in Charlotte, NC.

—-

GaedeDr. Stewart Gaede PhD MCCPM:
Adademic Medical Physicist, London Regional Cancer Program

Dr. Stewart Gaede is a Medical Physicist at the London Regional Cancer Program, London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC). He is the clinical lead for respiratory motion management, computed tomography (CT) simulation, and stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT).

Social Media: Twitter    Linkedin

—-

PottersDr. Louis Potters, MD
Radiation Oncologist and Chairman, Department of Radiation Medicine, Northwell Health

Louis Potters, MD, FACR, FASTRO is chairman of the Department of Radiation Medicine at Northwell Health and professor at the Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell. He is also immediate past Chair of the Northwell Health Physician Partners Board of Governors and executive Committee.

Dr. Potters is a practicing radiation oncologist and an internationally recognized expert in the management and treatment of prostate cancer. He has authored more than 100 publications, book chapters and editorials. Board-certified in internal medicine and radiation oncology, Dr. Potters previously served as Medical Director of the New York Prostate Institute, a not-for-profit research program and is a past associate member of radiation oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He received his medical degree from the New Jersey Medical School (Now Rutgers Medical School), and his undergraduate degree from Emory University.

Dr. Potters has served as a board member and in many other leadership roles for the American Society of Radiation Oncology and other medical societies. He has authored several key national cancer treatment guideline documents for radiation oncology. Dr. Potters has been a consultant for the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the National Quality Forum and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. He has served as an executive committee member for the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer program, and has served on several US Department of Health and Human Services committees and panels. He is a senior editor of Practical Radiation Oncology, on the editorial board of Oncology and Brachytherapy and reviews for other medical journals.

Dr. Potters oversees one of the largest radiation oncology departments with a faculty and staff devoted to excellent patient care, research and the education of tomorrow’s oncologists. The department is recognized as a pioneer for high quality and safe cancer care through its Smarter Radiation Oncology initiative.

Social Media: Twitter

SGRT Webinar_KEY ADMINISTRATIVE CONSIDERATIONS
We are excited to present our free webinar, Key Administrative Considerations for the Future of #RadOnc, which took place Thursday, July 16th @ 1pm EST and is now available on-demand.

Topics of discussion will include:

  • Patient Communication and education in this changing time
  • How departments will be prioritizing investments
  • How COVID-19 might impact the future of APMs
  • Departmental implications of increased hypofractionated treatments
  • Financial impacts departments are facing
  • Actions practices can take to prevent patient leakage and differentiate themselves

 

Fill out the form below to view the on-demand video of the webinar.

Der Schwerpunkt dieses Webinars liegt auf dem Vorteil der SGRT für jedenPatienten. Wie wird die gesamte Behandlung für die Patienten durch SGRT verbessert und wie kann sogar ohne Hautmarkierungen präzise bestrahlt werden?

Wir haben zwei Experten auf diesem Gebiet als Sprecher gewinnen können:

Dr. med. Adrian Staab, Strahlentherapie Bad Kreuznach: Oberflächengesteuerte Strahlentherapie in der klinischen Routine

Dr. phil. nat. Daniel Vetterli, PhD, Medizinphysiker, Radio-Onkologiezentrum Biel (ROZ) und Inselspital – Universitätsspital Bern: Initiale Patientenpositionierung ohne traditionelle Hautmarkierungen –Fiktion oder Realität dank optischer Oberflächenerkennung.

Seminario web en español, 100% clínico sobre la estandarización de SGRT en los tratamientos de radioterapia.

Las ponencias las realizarán usuarios de la tecnología SGRT en su práctica diaria.  Los temas que se van a tratar son los siguientes:

  1. SGRT es un estándar de tratamiento en la radioterapia que ayuda al posicionamiento y monitorización del paciente durante el tratamiento.  La presión asistencial  exige herramientas que aseguren los tiempos de tratamiento y agilicen el flujo del manejo del paciente en el servicio.  Hospitales de todo el mundo con más de 1.800 instalaciones y 80 estudios revisados desde el 2005 demuestran la aceptación y precisión de la tecnología de Vision RT: www.visionrt.com/education/
  2. Descubra la opinión del médico, técnico y físico después de 8 años utilizando un sistema SGRT en un centro en España y como ayuda a su práctica diaria. El COVID-19 supone un nuevo reto a los servicios de radioterapia y obliga a implementar soluciones SIN CONTACTO con el paciente para garantizar su seguridad durante el tratamiento.
  3. Tratamientos hipofraccionados necesitan de herramientas de precisión submilimétrica seguras para el paciente.
  4. Un centro compartirá las pruebas de aceptación para verificar la precisión submilimétrica del equipo para tratamientos de Radiocirugía,  cabeza y cuello. Conozca los resultados de pruebas de aceptación de la tecnología que demuestra su precisión.
  5. Técnicas como la eliminación de tatuajes puede ser un reclamo para que el paciente elija su centro de tratamiento.  El paciente está más informado de los tratamientos disponibles por el acceso online a la información www.alignrtedu.com.  SGRT es una herramienta en la que el paciente en DIBH colabora y participa en su tratamiento.
  6. Tendrán la posibilidad de ver un caso real del tratamiento de una mama con el equipo Align RT.

Rellene el siguiente formulario para registrarse en nuestro primer seminario web en español, 100% clínico sobre la estandarización de SGRT en los tratamientos de radioterapia: “Primera Reunión de usuarios de la comunidad SGRT España: Desde un tratamiento de mama en DIBH a la precisión submilimétrica.”

Agenda:

  • Comunicado de bienvenida a la I reunión de la comunidad SGRT en España en el Instituto Catalán de Oncología
    Carles Muñoz: Jefe de servicio de Física del Instituto Catalán de Oncología
  • Presentación: “Flujo de trabajo con un sistema SGRT y Safe RT”
    Javier Sánchez:  Jefe de servicio de física en el Hospital Universitario de Burgos
  • Presentación: “Experiencia inicial con un Sistema SGRT para radiocirugía“ Universitario de Puerta De Hierro
    Jaime Martínez: Jefe de servicio de física en el Hospital Universitario de Puerta de Hierro.
  • Presentación: “Implementación de un equipo SGRT para la realización de tratamientos en DIBH” Tolouse.
    Daniel Zarate: Físico Clínico de la Clínica Pasteur (Francia)
  • Presentación Grupo Biomédico Ascires: “8 años de experiencia con un sistema SGRT: la visión del médico, del físico y del técnico”
    Dr. José Carlos Gordo: Oncólogo Radioterápico,
    Luis Brualla: Físico Clínico
    Patricia Calatayud: Técnico
  • Presentación de caso clínico (servicios de oncología, física y radioterapia) con demostración de Align RT Advance en video en paciente real.
    Instituto Catalán de Oncología (Hospital ICO Gerona)
  • Turno de preguntas con los ponentes.
    Carles Muñoz: Jefe de servicio en el Instituto Catalán de Oncología

SGRT insiders and experts shares inside scoop: with tips, tricks and top-secret advice to support you in your clinical practice.

Learning Outcomes:

  1. Understand the current state of affairs and how to get started with SGRT
  2. Learn how to expand clinical utilization of surface guidance
  3. Understand how SGRT can deliver more value for radiation therapy patients
  4. Explore the business and operational value of SGRT
  5. Discover the future state and advancements coming in the surface guidance industry

View all the sessions below.

 

Upcoming meetings:

We have just opened registration for next year’s annual meeting of the SGRT community, to be held May 6-7, 2021 in New York City. Reserve your spot and find out more. 

 

The more organizations making the link between breast cancer treatments and the risk of damage to the heart – see the recent scientific statement from the American Heart Association here – we are pleased to re-run our most popular webinar of 2017: Cardiac Sparing in Left Breast Patients: The State of the Art. 

This webinar showcases the expertise of three field leaders discussing key focal points in delivering reproducible DIBH accurately and efficiently. The webinar will include newly published data on cardiac sparing. All speakers will be on hand as before to answer your questions directly.

Credits*:

Approved: 1 ASRT, 1 MDCB, 1 ASMIRT
Pending: CAMPEP

Experts:

Larry Marks, MD, Professor and Chairman, Dept. of Radiation Oncology, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Lily Tang, PhD, Chief Physicist/Assistant Attending, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

David Gierga, PhD, Assistant Professor, Massachusetts General Hospital

This webinar will be hosted at three different times on March 29, 2018; click on the appropriate link to register for your preferred time slot:

Session 1: click here to register
Hosted at: 4am PDT | 6am CDT | 7am EDT | 12pm BST | 1pm CEST | 7pm HKT | 10pm AET

Session 2: click here to register
Hosted at: 9am PDT | 11am CDT | 12pm EDT | 5pm BST | 6pm CEST | 12am HKT (March 30) | 3am AET (March 30)

Session 3: click here to register
Hosted at: 12pm PDT | 2pm CDT | 3pm EDT | 8pm BST | 9pm CEST | 3am HKT (March 30) | 6am AET (March 30)

 

*If you require an ASRT group sign-in sheet, please note that information will be sent to you closer to the webinar. Please email credits@sgrt.org if you have any questions.